🌷BLESSINGS ON BLESSINGS.🌷

Do you ever just count your blessings? Without even taking a look at the negative side at all?

Without taking a look at the negative side…

These are questions we would probably just give blank or one-word answers to without a second thought. Well, at least I’m brave enough to say that I would.
I would, a few days ago I would, but not today.

Well you see yesterday my mother and I stopped by Tuskys Bandari to pick up a few things. At least that was all we were meant to do before she got engrossed in looking at other items that she did not necessarily plan to buy. To be honest, this really pissed me off as I was exhausted so I decided to let her be. I told her she would find me outside once she was done. 

My first choice was to take a seat in the car  which was parked in the scorching heat and wait impatiently for her; the second was to get a snack or drink and seat at one of the tables outside that have umbrellas. At that point, sparing some cash for a drink seemed more than just reasonable.

I quickly grabbed a Coke…

I quickly grabbed a Coke, paid at the counter and went outside. I sat at a table next to the rails just by where people passed as they walked in and out of the supermarket. Once in a while, my elbow seemed to get pushed aside,both accidentally and intentionally but I was deep in thought about everything and nothing at all.

I had gazed into the empty space right in front of me and travelled to an entirely different universe for about 5 minutes when my reverie was interrupted by the screeching of an old and rusty wheelchair.

I had gazed into the empty space right in front of me…

“He was here! Finally! It was about time.” I thought to myself and a smile slowly planted itself on my rested face.

I am sure that most of you who go to Tuskys Bandari have seen him a couple of times. To be honest, I do not know his name but I call him Babu. Not because he is old but out of nothing short of respect.

This man seems to have some elements or rather symptoms of autism. He is, for lack of a better word, crippled and confined to a wheelchair. He also appeared to struggle with coordinating most of his body movements.

Almost everyday, his caretaker pushes the man to his spot right outside the supermarket. It is from here that he quietly seeks aid, mostly financial, from passers-by, saying nothing but “Asante” to those who contribute. My mother always seemed to give what she could to this man. This was contrary to all the other beggars she always ignored on the streets. I had always wanted to hold a conversation with him and this seemed to be my only chance. 

Once his caretaker had left, I leaned against the rails, smiled at him and said, “Shikamoo Babu.” I did so in the most respectful tone that I could use.

(I am about to share a Kiswahili dialogue with the hope that you will all understand.)

“Marahaba mwanangu,” he replied in a voice that proved a struggle in speech. “Naomba uniwie, ningependa kuzungumza nawe kwa muda mfupi tu,” I requested to converse with him and all he did was try to smile and nod. 

At this point our talk was being interrupted now and then by shoppers walking in and out but I did not really mind. 

The truth was, I only had one question for him and I asked it, I asked him what kept him going. I really wanted to know why he would not stop coming to that spot and he gave it a one-minute thought before answering.

With a smile in his face he said, “Mwanangu, ni hamu ya kuonyeshwa mapenzi, kupeana shukran na kueneza baraka za Mungu zinazonileta hapa. Aliponiweka katika kiti hiki, nilitokwa na matumaini lakini ninapokumbuka kuwa bado mimi nipo hai hapa duniani, ni baraka kwangu. Pesa ninazopata hapa ninazitumia katika biashara ya kutengeneza poti, kwa matibabu na kusaidia wengine kama mimi wasiojiweza au watoto mitaani. Wengine wao hawakubarikiwa na mapenzi ambayo watu hunionyesha hata kidogo. Ndiposa sichoki kuendelea na maisha. Kisha, napenda kusema asante. (he giggled a little at this point.) Alafu…” 

Just as his words were sinking in, someone tapped my shoulder. She just had to be done now huh? Tough luck! Here was my mother and Babu seemed to recognise this generous soul. He shared a smile which she reciprocated without a doubt. 

As we left, she put some cash into his little wallet and left him a loaf of bread. “Asante mama na ubarikiwe,” he said. “Mwanangu, usisahau kushukuru,” that was directed to me. 

Honestly, I was in awe and a little teary as well. I was silent for a really long while as I tried to digest it all. I sat in the car, deep in thought as I processed exactly what I had gained from that short conversation that I had always wanted to have. 

Babu was crippled, kind of underdeveloped for his age, poor and lonely but he still thanked God for a number of things. He was grateful for the love he received from total strangers and this gave him the psych to see another day. He barely had a proper roof over his head but still wholeheartedly shared what he got. He gave his caretaker money to run a pot making business that would at least put a meal a day on their table and cater for some of their basic needs.

Then here I am, sulking and cursing over little failures and bad days. Not appreciating everything else I have but dwelling on what I don’t. This experience opened up my mind, heart and soul to a lot.

Then today I felt a little of how he does. Well, I mean about the love he appreciates. All these birthday messages that came through also came with deeper meaning. I mean even total strangers thought about appreciating the kindness I show others. My goal in life is to make people feel loved. Most of the time I do it without realising it, I give what I have and that is even if it means sacrificing my privileges. Babu taught me never to stop but to do it more often than I do now. The main lesson I learn from him was just to appreciate and appreciate and appreciate!

Again I ask, do you ever just count your blessings?

Dear Reader,

Well hello there? It has definitely been long but here is a piece to keep you thinking. A little outside my comfort zone, I mean writing in a different dialect but if you don’t understand…don’t hesitate to ask…you know my DM is always accessible…Instagram: @akinyi_711 

This was written on 30th October regardless of when it will be posted. Today, I turned 19, there is so much that has gone down in my life, both good and bad. I tend to share a of positive vibes but personally dwell on the negatives. Honestly, I was not psyched for my birthday but my family just unknowingly made me realise how much I should appreciate life. Plus this experience. All I’m saying is, BE THANKFUL…BE GRATEFUL. Even for the little things, APPRECIATE. And always BREATHE KINDNESS. 

Sorry I couldn’t get relatable pictures to flow with 😢 

I’m working on another piece already so stay tuned.

♥ Farewell, until next time. ♥

♠ Akinyi Valerie. ♠


4 Replies to “🌷BLESSINGS ON BLESSINGS.🌷”

Leave a comment